a fresh start in spring

by racheliliadis

Oh baby, baby the Lord is faithful and good. For over a year, I’ve been faced with depression, anxiety and heart-wrenching situations. There was a time that I felt hopeless and worthless, but never did I feel abandoned. This time last year, God sent me this promise:

“Forget the former things: do not dwell on the past.

See, I am doing a new thing!

Now it springs up; do you not perceive it?

I am making a way in the wilderness and

streams in the wasteland.”

-Isaiah 43:18-19

At that point in my life, I believed He was capable of making a way and doing a a new thing, but in my humanness I didn’t know what that looked like. Now, a year later, I understand that I needed to surrender my own desires. In order for Him to glorify himself through my life, He had to bring me to a place of complete brokenness.

Recently, I’ve received visions of green, spring and rebirth. A week into school and I can already tell that this is going to be a rich, joyful semester filled with community and love.

Someone reminded me the other day of the saying “if you’ve always done what you’ve always done, you’re always going to get what you’ve always got.” Truth. I’ve learned a new way of living life, and it’s involved changing my desires and paradigms.

Jesus addressed this concept when He was questioned about fasting.

“Neither do people pour new wine into old wineskins. If they do, the skins will burst; the wine will run out, and the wine-skins will be ruined. No, they pour new wine into new wineskins, and both are preserved.” -Matthew 9: 17

In this passage, Jesus is suggesting that in order to get a different result we must do something new. He wants to give us a lasting change, a revival.

Well, I can honestly say that I’m experiencing that lasting change and revival. The beauty of it all is that I’ve only dipped my toe into the spring. His desire is to immerse us in His love. His crazy love, which is the well-spring of all satisfaction, joy and love. More than we can even imagine!

All this to say, God is making a way for this semester. The ice has melted, and the green grass is making it’s way through the snow.

And I couldn’t be more thankful.

