clueless

by racheliliadis

“No, I don’t want to go.”

That was my first reaction to my grandfather asking me if I wanted to go on an adventure in Liberia. I know that sounds rather harsh, but my grandfather can be pretty persistent (understatement), and I wanted to let him know that I was in no way interested in his trip. I wanted to graduate college, start a new job and move to the location of my choice.

The next few weeks, I preceded to make plans for myself. Things looked promising out in Colorado. I had a roommate lined up, job prospects and a moving-out plan. Slowly but surely, the doors began shutting. It became evident that this wasn’t what God had in store for my life after college.

With little options left, I let my grandfather know that I was ready to talk about going to Liberia. Within days, we booked a flight, found a team with a local church in Atlanta, applied for my VISA and starting planning. Not only did God provide a team of college students for me to travel with, but the team also had a need for a photojournalist. Did the team leader know that my dream is to be a photojournalist around the world? No. But God did.

Now I’m hours away from leaving, and I have no idea what to expect.

There are a plethora of emotions running around my body. One minute, I’m nervous about being in a new country with new people. The next minute, I’m about to explode with excitement knowing that I’ll be discovering daily what God has in store for this trip.

I’ll meet my team for the next few weeks in 6 hours. A few hours later, I’ll be in Liberia. I wish I had more details to share with you, but honestly, I don’t even know what to pack. Even though I’m clueless as to what awaits me, I can feel that there’s a breath-taking adventure ahead.

The plane hasn’t left yet, but I’ve already learned great lessons. Humans love making plans. We love to do what we what, when we want. God doesn’t work that way. He works on His schedule, and that’s OK because He cares about us and knows our heart better than we know our own. God’s will is always the safest place to be. The mystery and unknown is the exciting part. It’s beautiful to rest and soak in the journey that God provides for us.

“Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?” Matt. 6:26

