heart issues

by racheliliadis

“I am leaving you with a gift – peace of mind and heart. And the peace I give is a gift the world cannot give. So don’t be troubled or afraid.” John 14:27

Hearts have been on my mind all day.

It probably has something to do with the fact with what happened to my dad last night. Although our night ended joyfully, the early morning brought a surprise that brought my family to our knees.

At 12:30 a.m. the ambulance lights started flashing in front of my house. It all began with my dad feeling itchy and uncomfortable. But when he  got out of bed to get some fresh air, he quickly found himself passed out on the ground. The noise of his fall woke up the downstairs.

My mom rushed out of bed to help him up. My brother, also hearing the commotion, joined to help  my mom lift my father off the ground and into a chair.

“You need to call them,” my dad whispered.

All the color was gone from his face. Ghostly. My mom dialed 911 and waited for the next 15 minutes holding my father. Not knowing whether this was going to be the last time she held him.

And I slept through all of it.

This morning I received a phone call from my mom at 6 a.m. telling me my dad was in the hospital. My dad? Or granddad? I’m confused, it was so early.

Walking into the hospital, I felt numb. Room 412. Room 412. What was I going to find? It felt surreal. Walking into his room, I was afraid. I admit it. I was afraid to loose my dad. And it was painful to see him laying helplessly in a hospital bed when last night he was completely healthy.

And then out of nowhere, when I should be falling apart from fear, it hit me. Peace.

I felt peace.

God reminded me that He’s strongest when I’m weakest.  Seriously? How beautiful. Once again, He is the loving arms, my broken heart can run to. There’s nothing He can’t do. He is God. He is good. I surrender. Even my dad, who I love more than anything else on earth.

I would soon learn that the doctors think my dad had a heart attack. While we still aren’t sure, we know that his heart was damaged.

The doctors say my dad has heart issues. He has to wear a heart monitor for the next two weeks. But this brings a question to mind. Don’t we all have heart issues?

Jeremiah 17:19 says that, “The heart is deceitful above all things and beyond cure. Who can understand it?” Can the doctors understand it?

The doctors think they can cure the issues of the heart by wearing a monitor for a couple weeks and running a few tests. But really, that will only buy a couple more years. And then my dad will die. We all will die.

It takes the Creator of life to bring true healing to the deepest parts of our heart. Before Christ, we all have heart issues. And they are greater than any heart monitor can reveal.

But there’s good news: the damage isn’t permanent. God promises us a new heart, one much more perfected than any doctor could offer.

There it is in Ezekial. “And I will give you a new heart, and a new spirit I will put within you. And I will remove the heart of stone from your flesh and give you a heart of flesh.”(36:26)

I’m so grateful Jesus conquered the grave. Even if my dad hadn’t made it through the night, I have hope that I will see him again.

“So we do not loose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day.”  (2 Cor. 4:16) As Christians, we have something the world doesn’t have. Hope.

Though outwardly, we are all wasting away, in Christ, we are new creations, being sanctified daily to be more like Him to spend eternity with Him.

Today, I learned two lessons:

  1. It’s amazing what you can sleep through. It makes me think, what else in life am I sleeping through?
  2. Life is short. Can I look in the mirror each morning and be OK with the way I’m living my life daily?

Just a few thoughts…


