in all circumstances …

by racheliliadis

1 Thessalonians 5:18, “give thanks in all circumstances,
for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

Today, the barista gave me a saucer with my coffee mug. A saucer. I don’t normally get a saucer with my coffee, and today, of all days, I needed the saucer. I’m thankful for the saucer.

I regress … you know those days that you are so out of it you drive 40 minutes on the highway with your lunch on the roof of your car? The days you stumble out of bed, in a panic, and realize you haven’t changed your clock, and you’re actually an hour early for work?

Today, has totally been that day. My mind has felt like it’s in another universe. And most often when my mind starts racing, it’s because I’m worried. Worried about my future, my appearance, my job … and where does that get me? A crippled existence.

A life of worry leads to a life void of joy and peace.

But what does this have to do with a coffee saucer?

Well, right when my mind was at the peak of throwing myself a pity party, the barista handed me a mug, and with a smile said, “and you get a saucer.” In the midst of my mind’s madness, I realized that I had been going through the day with the wrong mindset. And I stepped out of my comfort zone, and said yes to gratitude. By choosing to be thankful, it placed me in the epicenter of His will, and freed me up to be present. In that moment, I chose thankfulness. I chose to be thankful for coffee mugs, and saucers, and baristas with crazy curly hair.

My day immediately brightened.

So, good news. The next time you drive with your lunch on the roof of your car, give thanks. You might find yourself  “surprised by joy.”

But it’s not easy. Learning how to choose gratitude, to choose joy does not always feel natural. But it always produces a heart change. Little things in life will magnify and become beautiful. You’ll find miracles in the mundane. Joy regardless of circumstances.

Cheer up people. We have so much to be thankful for! From saucers to smiles, we are blessed to live.

Thanks for listening.

